The Essence of Buddhism in Light of Maharishi Vedic Science

Lesson 1.1
Or log in to access your purchased courses
☆☆☆☆☆ Add Review (must be logged in)


The Essence of Buddhism in Light of Maharishi Vedic Science is a revitalizing look at the teaching of Buddhism. This course is taught by Dr. Evan Finkelstein, renowned for his eloquent lectures on religion and philosophy. Offered through MUM Distance Education, this course explores the central teachings of Buddhism in the light of Maharishi Vedic Science. MORE

Buddha Shakyamuni was born a royal prince about 560 BC. At the age of 29, he retired to the forest to practice meditation. After six years he gained enlightenment and began his teaching.

There are said to be 84,000 teachings of Buddha and numerous interpretations of the meaning of Buddha’s philosophy. Dr. Finkelstein’s course will examine the most central teachings of Buddhism from a fresh point of view. Topics covered in the course include discussions on the Buddhist concept of God, the attainment of Nirvana (the unconditioned state), the Four Noble Truths, the Eightfold Path to Awakening, Emptiness, Non-duality, Suchness, Mindfulness, Celestial Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, the doctrines of Anitya (Impermanence), Dukha (suffering), and Anatman (non-self, non-ego) and the Buddhist vision of Dharma and Karma.

These concepts will be explored through a range of Buddhist scriptures representative of the Buddhist traditions of both Theravada (Doctrine of the Elders) and Mahayana (the Great Vehicle), which includes Chinese, Tibetan and Pure Land Buddhism.

Evan Finkelstein
Ph.D. Associate Professor of Maharishi Vedic Science

Dr. Finkelstein is an Associate Professor of Maharishi Vedic Science. He earned a BA from Carnegie-Mellon University; an M.S.W. from Yeshiva University; and an MSCI and PhD from Maharishi University of Management. Included in courses taught by Prof. Finkelstein are themes such as universal principles of life expressed by Maharishi Vedic Science and the religions of Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism.



Lesson 1


  • Lesson 1.1 Free Preview
  • Lesson 1.2 Free Preview

Lesson 2


  • Lesson 2.1
  • Lesson 2.2

Lesson 3


  • Lesson 3.1
  • Lesson 3.2

Lesson 4


  • Lesson 4.1
  • Lesson 4.2

Lesson 5


  • Lesson 5.1
  • Lesson 5.2